MACMAN AND ROBIN

I am sticking with my chook pictures. I liked those chooks yesterday. Today MacMan called for me to go and see his computer setup. He lives just up the way.HIs wife is the mother of an old friend of my kids and her sister was a close friend of mine back in the 90s when I lived in Brigalow Caravan Park. MacMan fixed my iMac a few months back and did a top job. Then the graphic card failed. That’s what the 2011 graphics card do. I trust him.

He showed me his setup of laptop connected to large monitor. They live in the kind of house I would love to live in. An ol tradtional Bellingen farmhouse with wooden floors and french doors and rooms and a view of the mountains. It also has easy street access.

Anyways we talked a while and then Robin came in and  the day passed and I stayed for lunch and we talked. We have the shared past of early dropouts in the 70s.  We never came near owning our homes or even aspiring to. Money per se doesn’t come naturally to us. I had a lovely day of shared food and learning  and memories.

The nouveau hipsters we have here now don’t seem even vaguely to understand the mindset of my people.

Well I am running on 2 gb of RAM so I declare the evening over. The MacBook runs like me after Sepsis.

Good Night People. Good Night.

P.S. Maybe we didn’t get it right. Maybe we did. But we surely gave it our best shots. We haven’t been overseas. We didn’t make enough money to “own” homes.

BUt we loved our kids and our people and we tried to live decent lives. We didn’t go for the “Think of yourself first ” path.  Some days I am very proud to have lived as an alternate from the 70s. I have little taste for capitalism and decadence. Don’t give a shit about ” success”. Have very little ambition – and some days , some days – what a wonderful thing it is.

Like my Izzy . He inherited $100000 the year before he died and it was almost all gone when he did. Gone on family and people and simple life and music.

So I sit here – insecure at times but in the very core of me – tempered gold.